Brief History‎ > ‎Ancient Era‎ > ‎


8300 BC - manu
6300 BC - shakuntala
5100 BC - ramayan
3102 BC - mahabharat
3200 BC - kashmir
3100 - 1829 BC - pandav
1829 - 829 BC - magadh
829 - 691 BC - pradyot
691 - 400 BC - shishung
400 - 300 BC - nanda

After the Mahabharat War; India was divided into small and large provinces called Janapadhadas and Mahajanpadhas. 16 Mahajandaphas became prominient after the Mahabharat War. These were: Kuru, Panchala, Kosal, Kashi, Magadha, Anga, Kamboja, Vajji, Malla, Vatsa, Chedi, Matsya, Surasena, Ashvaka, Avanti, and Gandhar. Most of them were subsequently absorbed into Magadha empire. Sreemad Bhagwad records the dynasties that ruled major proviences:
Pandav Dynasty

28 Pandava kings ruled for 1273 years. They ruled over Kuru-Panchala area. Arjuna's grandson Parikshit was the first king in this lineage. The last king Kshemak was overthrown by Sahadeva of Magadha dynasty.

Magadha Dynasty

22 Magadha kings ruled for 1000 years. Bimbisar was the most remarkable king of this dynasty. He extended the boundaries of the Magadha kingdom upto Nepal. He built the city of RajGriha (Rajgir in Bihar). Gautam Buddha and Mahavir Jain, preached their teachings during his time.

His son Ajatshatru conquored Kosal by defeating Prasenajit. (Prasenajit was a decendant of Rama. He ruled over Kosal from Shravasti.) Ajatshatru founded the city of Patalipura (Patna).

The last Magadha king Puranjaya was killed by his minister Shunak, whose son Pradyot started the Pradyot dynasty.

Pradotya Dynasty

5 Pradyot kings ruled for 138 years. Pradyotas ruled from Avanti. Their kingdom covered central and western India. It was prosperous due to the trade with Mesopotamia. Their main sea port was Bharoch (Gujrat).

Shishunga Dynasty

10 Shishunga kings ruled for 360 years. Shishungas defeated Pradyots to establish their rule.

Nanda Dynasty

9 Nanda kings ruled for 100 years. This was established by Mahapadma-Nanda, an illegitimate son of the last Shishunaga emperor Mahanandi. The Nandas maintained a huge army, and hence had to rely on heavy taxation. Chandragupta Maurya overthrew this dynasty with Chanakya's help. During this time dams were constructed on rivers for water storage and irrigation. Rainfall was measured. Silver coins were issued by the rulers to facilitate trade. (Earliest known coin is a coin issued by Ajatshatru.)