Brief History‎ > ‎British Rule‎ > ‎


1510 - 1961 - portugese 1600 - 1858 - east india company 1858 - 1947 - british rule 1819 - 1947 - hindu kashmir
Dec 1600 East India Company is established.
1688 Island of Bombay which was given as dowry by Portugese to Charles II, is presented to East India company.
1757 Battle of Plassey: British gain right to collect revenue in Bengal.
1773 Regulating Act: British Govt gains political powers in India.
1784 Pitt's India Act: British Govt gains military and revennue powers.
1799 British defeat Tipu.
1817-19 British defeat the largest power of India: the Marathas.
1829 Prohibition of Sati system and suppression of thugs.
1843 British capture Sindh.
1848 Dalhousie's Doctrine of Lapse: if a king dies without a natural hier, his state will be annexed by the British.
1848-49 British defeat Sikh.
1853 Installation of first Railway and Telegraph line.
1854-56 States of Jhansi, Oudh and Nagpur are annexed.
1857 First Uprising.
1858 British Crown takes over the Indian Government.
1877 Queen Victoria proclaimed Empress of India.
1878 Vernacular Press Act: imposes restriction on the press.
1885 Indian National Congress is established.
1905 Viceroy Curzon partitions Bengal into Hindu and Muslim areas.
1906 Formation of Muslim League.
1919 Rowlatt Act: authorizes Govt to imprison any person without trial.
1919 Jalianwalla Bagh massacre.
1920 Non-Cooperation Movement
1928 All Britsh, reform committee: Simon Commission, is boycotted by Indian parties.
1929 Lord Irwin promises Dominion Status for India. National Congress demands complete independance.
1930 Gandhi marches to Dandi, to revolt againt Salt Act.
1931 Second Round Table Conference. Irwin-Gandhi Pact is signed.
1942 Quit India movement starts.
1942 Subhash Chandra Bose forms Indian National Army.
1933 Rehmat Ali demands a new nation for Muslims. Names it Pakistan.
1944 Gandhi-Jinnah talks break down on Pakistan issue.
Aug 1946 Direct Action Day declared by Jinnah, ignites Hindu-Muslim riots.
Mar 1947 Viceroy Lord Mountbatten arrives in India to draft a plan for the power transfer.
May 1947 Partition of India is accepted by British, National Congress and Muslim League. Only person who opposes partition is Gandhi.
July 1947 Sir Radcliffe is in charge of deciding the boundaries of the two new countries.
15 Aug 1947 India gains independence.
Aug-Oct 1947 One of the greatest migrations of the history takes place, when an estimated 15 Million people cross the borders. The worst massacres that resulted between the Hindus and Muslims, claim 500,000 lives.
Oct 1947 India-Pakistan war over Kashmir.
Jan 1948 Mahatma Gandhi is assassinated.
Sep 1948 Jinnah dies.

After the 1857 uprising, the British followed Divide and Rule policy. They created a rift between the Hindus and Muslims. By fabricating the Aryan Invasion Theory they tried to create a rift on the basis of Aryans and Dravidians.

Britain's trade policy ruined India's Cottage industries. The industries, education system and transportation system that developed in India, were according to the British needs.