Brief History‎ > ‎Golden Phase‎ > ‎

chalukya, rashtrakuta, chalukya II, yadava

320 - 600 - gupta 606 - 647 - harshavardhana 546 - 800 - karkota 730 - 1197 - palas senas 750 - 920 - pratihars 950 - 1947 - rajput
423 - 753 - chalukya 753 - 973 - rashtrakut 973 - 1190 - chalukya 1190 - 1310 - yadav
850 - 1048 - cholas 1190 - 1312 - hoysalas 1190 - 1321 - kaktiyas

Chalukya Dynasty 425 - 753 AD

After Satvahan, the next great empire in the Deccan was the Chalukya empire. Pulakesin I, first ruler of the Chalukya dynasty, founded Vatapi (modern Badami in Bijapur district) and made it his capital. His sons extended the boundaries of the Chalukya kingdom.

Pulakesin II was the greatest ruler of the Chalukya dynasty. He consolidated his authority in Maharashtra and conquered large parts of the Deccan. His greatest achievement was his victory against Harshvardhan in 620. However, Pulakesin II was defeated and killed by the Pallava king Narasimhavarman in 642. His capital Vatapi was completely destroyed.

His son Vikramaditya who was also as great a ruler as his father succeeded Pulakesin. He renewed the struggle against Pallavas and recovered the former glory of the Chalukyas. In 753, his great grandson Vikramaditya II was overthrown by a chief named Dantidurga.

Chalukyas erected about 100 temples at Aihole. Some Ajantha caves were also built during this period. Chalukya kings gave refuge to many Persians in Bombay.

Rashtrakutas 753-973AD

Dantidurga laid the foundation of Rashtrakuta empire. The Rashtrakuta's empire was the most powerful of the time. They ruled from Lattaluru (Latur), and later shifted the capital to Manyaketa (Malkhed).

Amoghavarsha (814-880AD) is the most famous Rashtrakuta kings. His long reign was distinguished for its royal patronage of Jainism and the flourishing of regional literature. Indra III, great-grandson of Amoghvarsha defeated the Pratihar king Mahipala. Krishana III was the last great king of Rashtrakuta dynasty.

Rashtrakutas were great patrons of art and architecture. Krishana I, uncle of Dantiduraga built the Kailasa Temple at Ellora. The caves at Gharapuri (Elephanta near Mumbai) were also built by this dynasty.

Chalukya Rule Part II: 973-1190 AD

During Rashtrakutas rule, the Chalukyas were a minor power. For 200 years, they survived the Rashtrakutas. In 973AD Tailap Chalukya of the Kalyani branch gained power and restored the Chalukyan rule. They gained supremacy for about 200 years to be partitioned into: Yadavs of Deogiri, Kaktiyas of Warangal and Hoysalas of Belur.

Yadavas of Devagiri

Yadavas extended their authority over a large territory. Their capital was situated at Chandor (Nasik district). They built the Deogiri fort in 11th century. Raja Bhillamraj further fortified Deogiri, and made it his capital.

In 1294, when Ramadeorao Yadav was ruling at Deogiri, Alla-ud-din Khilji laid four sieges to Deogiri. Finally, the Yadavas were defeated and the strong fort of Deogiri fell into the hands of Muslim rulers. The riches of Deogiri were looted. By 1310 the Yadav rule came to an end.

Marathi language received the status of a court language in Yadava rule. Sant Dnyaneshwar belonged to this age. The Yadava king Singhana was great patron of learning. He established the college of astronomy to study the work of Bhaskaracharya.