Brief History‎ > ‎Independence‎ > ‎


Aug 1947 - partition of Bharat into India, Pakistan Oct 1947 - Kashmir joins India Sep 1948 - Hydrabad joins India Dec 1961 - Liberation of Goa May 1975 - Sikkim joins India

Goa Swatantrya Sangram

Portugese Rule

Port Govapuram, was an important city to all the empires it belonged. It was the port where Arabs brought their horses for the Vijaynagar Kingdom. Goa was ruled by Mauryas, Satavahans, Chalukyas, Kadambas, Vijayanagar empire, and finally Adil Shah of Bijapur.

In 1420 Turks closed the trade route between Europe and India. Europeans set out to find routes to India. Portugese Vasco-da-gama was successful in finding the sea route to India via the Cape of Good Hope in 1498.

In 1510 Portugese commander Afonso de Albuquerque captured Goa from Adil Shah. Though his successors expanded the territories, they lost most to British except Diu, Daman and Goa which were retained until 1961.

Struggle for freedom:

1946: Under the leadership of Dr Ram Manohar Lohia, people of Goa participated in the civil disobedience movement.

1954: Jai Hind Movement: Satyagrahis from within and across the borders entered Goa to liberate the territory. Portuguese suppressed the peaceful movement by oppressive measures. The village Patradevi, saw inhuman firings against unarmed satyagrahis.

14 years of 'Satyagraha', and 'non-violence' yeilded no results. At last, on Dec 19, 1961, Indian Government took military action against the foreign rule in its land. Armed Forces of the Indian Government, under the leadership of Lt. General Candeth, entered Goa from its northern border and liberated Goa, in a near bloodless action.